Commercial Insurance Leads: Where Agents Find Business Owners, and What a Lead Should Cost

Commercial insurance leads guide: five lead sources, six owner segments, three signals and cost per lead

Publish date: Oct 30, 2026

Commercial insurance leads are business owners who need cover for a company, not a household: liability, property, workers' comp, commercial auto. Agents get commercial insurance leads four ways: buy a quote request, bid for a lead, pay for a booked meeting, or find the owner first. Spona counts 2,557,300 US small businesses with a verified owner contact across six insurable segments. Every one of them has 1 to 49 staff.

In insurance, a lead is a named person with a reason to talk: the owner, a line they need and a way to reach them. This guide covers commercial lines only. Life, home and personal auto stay out.

The Extractor
The Refiner
The Verifier
The Exporter

Get thousands of leads in 4 minutes.

Stop stitching tools together.
Start with verified sales data, delivered in minutes.

SCALE SALES NOW

No contracts · No setup · No onboarding

Business insurance leads: five sources and what each one discloses

Five kinds of vendor sell business insurance leads, and they sell five different things. The table holds what each vendor's own page says, and what it leaves out.

Lead sourceWhat you getExclusive or shared, in the vendor's wordsPrice on the vendor's pageExamples
Exclusive web leadsA quote request from an owner, matched to your industry, area and business-size preferencesExclusive: CompleteMarkets says the lead "is not sold to any other agent"Not shown; set by "Risk, Location and other factors"Tivly, CompleteMarkets
Shared web leadsThe same quote request sold to several agents, with filters for eight coverage typesShared, under a cap the vendor calls one of the lowest in the industry, with no number givenNot shown; a higher price buys priorityInsuranceLeads.com
Bid marketplaceReal-time leads and live calls you bid onNot stated on its pageYou set the price; pay per lead or per call, no minimumsContactability
Appointment settingA booked meeting with an owner, set by the vendor's own callersNot stated on its pageNot shownSuperhuman Prospecting
Data listsBusiness records and owner contacts you work yourselfSpona's are not exclusive; Salesgenie's page does not saySalesgenie from $149 a month; Spona $0.024 to $0.07 an email-only lead on Standard SearchSalesgenie, Spona

Tivly promises "exclusive, qualified commercial insurance prospects" and lets you set industry, geography and business size. It shows no price. CompleteMarkets prices each lead by "Risk, Location and other factors" and sells with no minimum spend and no contract. AWL matches owners with agents for general liability, BOP, commercial auto and workers' compensation, and says nothing about price or exclusivity.

InsuranceLeads.com sells shared leads with coverage filters from general liability to D&O. When several agents with the same primary carrier qualify for a lead, price decides who gets priority. It also promises a "fair and easy return policy for bad leads". Contactability lets you set your price and bid on leads and live calls, with no minimums or long-term commitments.

Superhuman Prospecting books meetings instead of selling web leads. It runs custom sales development campaigns aimed at your target client profile, and it sells no leads "generated from generic websites". Salesgenie sells list plans from $149 a month, built from sources such as new business filings and daily utility connections.

Pages offering commercial insurance leads for sale rarely show a price, so the terms matter more than the pitch. Get five of them in writing before you buy commercial insurance leads:

  • Exclusive or shared, and if shared, the cap.
  • How the price is set: by risk, by location, by bid or by subscription.
  • The return policy for a bad lead, and what counts as bad.
  • Minimum spend and contract length.
  • Who else receives the owner's data, and when.

Exclusive commercial insurance leads vs shared leads

Contactability defines both plainly: exclusive leads go to one agent and tend to cost more. Shared leads go to several and tend to cost less. CompleteMarkets says the average lead goes out "more than four times (4x)". That is a vendor's figure, offered while selling exclusive leads, so treat it as a sales claim.

An exclusive quote request still has a clock on it. The owner filled in a form because they wanted a price, and a competitor who finds them another way can call too. What you buy is a promise about the vendor's resale, not about who else reaches the owner. Owner contacts you build yourself have the opposite profile: nobody asked for a quote, so no form starts a race to the phone.

A quote-request web lead and an owner-contact data lead compared on who else has it, price and next step

Small business insurance leads: six US segments with owner contacts

The SBA counts 36,207,130 small businesses in the US. Only 17.7 percent of them, 6,395,635 firms, have paid employees. Those employer firms are where commercial lines start: the federal government requires every business with employees to carry workers' compensation, unemployment and disability insurance. State laws add more.

Spona tracks six insurable segments at 1 to 49 staff. An owner contact is a verified email for the owner, founder, CEO, president or managing partner. Small business insurance leads start with that person, who usually signs.

SegmentNAICS codesCompanies, 1 to 49 staffWith a verified owner contactOwner coverageLines to lead with
Construction23646,000458,00070.9%General liability, workers' comp, commercial auto
Manufacturing31 to 33146,000101,00069.2%Product liability, commercial property, workers' comp
Physician clinics6211, 6214128,00089,30069.8%Professional liability, BOP
Restaurants722511, 722513301,000206,00068.4%BOP, commercial property, workers' comp
Trucking484298,000193,00064.8%Commercial auto liability, cargo
Professional services542,180,0001,510,00069.3%Professional liability, BOP

Across the six, that is 3,699,000 companies, and 2,557,300 of them have a verified owner contact. Professional services holds more than half of both. Trucking has the lowest owner coverage, at 64.8 percent, and a federal minimum of its own.

The "lines to lead with" column mostly follows the SBA's own definitions. A business owner's policy combines the typical coverage options into one bundle, which suits a clinic or a consultancy. Product liability covers "a defective product that causes injury or bodily harm", the manufacturer's first worry. Professional liability covers "malpractice, errors, and negligence", so it leads for clinics and professional firms.

For trucking, the FMCSA holds every motor carrier responsible for financial assurance of at least $750,000: insurance, a surety bond or approved self-insurance. The amount can reach $5 million, based on vehicle weight and cargo. That makes commercial auto insurance leads the natural opener in trucking. Commercial Truck Quotes sells truckers who have asked for a quote, with no price on its page.

For construction and manufacturing owners, our manufacturing and construction company lists guide covers titles and sources. For clinics, the healthcare email lists guide shows who holds which title.

Commercial insurance lead generation by signal: first seen, new sites, hiring

Many of the 3,699,000 companies above already have an agent. Commercial insurance lead generation works better on the ones whose cover is about to change. A company first turns up in Spona's sources, lists a new site or posts a job. Spona tracks three such signals for the six segments.

SegmentFirst seen in the last 90 daysNew location in the last 90 daysHiring in the last 30 days
Construction18,40011,20048,300
Manufacturing2,2003,10028,400
Physician clinics1,8505,20026,300
Restaurants9,70014,60068,700
Trucking12,8004,20031,900
Professional services61,20038,900217,000

Read the columns separately. A restaurant group can appear in all three, so adding them across would count it three times. Each signal has its own definition:

  • First seen. The company appeared in a Spona source for the first time within 90 days: a public registration filing or the first capture of its website. It is not the incorporation date, and it does not mean the business just opened. Each company counts once.
  • New location. A new physical site appeared on the company's location page or in a licensed maps or business listing within 90 days. That is not proof the site opened that day.
  • Hiring. At least one open job appeared on the employer's careers page or in a licensed job feed within 30 days. Each company counts once.

The coverage conversation differs by signal. Hiring brings employees under the federal requirement for workers' compensation, unemployment and disability cover. A new site needs commercial property cover, which the SBA defines as protection against "loss and damage to company property". A company you have only just seen may have no agent yet, or a policy bought online in a hurry. Ask.

On Spona, these are filters on Pro and above, combined with the segment, the area and the staff band. "Restaurant owners, fewer than 50 staff, a new location in the last 90 days" is a complete search. Our buyer intent data guide covers how these company signals compare with web intent.

Four moments when a small business needs new cover: first seen, hiring, new site and renewal

What a commercial insurance lead should cost: the per-lead math

Apart from Spona, no vendor in the first table publishes a per-lead price for a commercial insurance lead. CompleteMarkets prices by risk and location, InsuranceLeads.com lets a higher price buy priority, and Contactability makes you bid. Salesgenie shows only a monthly plan.

So the price you pay is the one you negotiate. The only yardstick is what a bound policy is worth to you. Our lead value calculator does that arithmetic: close rate, first-year commission and retention give you the most a commercial insurance lead can cost. Our guide to lead generation pricing models explains the per-lead, per-appointment and subscription models behind the vendor pages.

Spona takes the other approach. The price per lead shows at checkout, before you buy, and every search starts with a free sample. The table prices 1,500 owner contacts, the size of the list in the broker case below. The arithmetic is ours, from Spona's list prices, not any customer's spend.

Search typePrice a lead1,500 owner contactsWith one search session
Bulk Search$0.008 to $0.09$12 to $135$20 to $145
Standard Search, email only$0.024 to $0.07$36 to $105$44 to $115
Standard Search, email and mobile$0.28 to $0.55$420 to $825$428 to $835
Deep Search$0.48 to $2.00$720 to $3,000$728 to $3,010

Each new search session costs a one-time 1,000 credits. By plan, that is $8 to $10. It pays for the AI analysis and market mapping of your segment; after that, you pay per lead. Within each range, how specific the search is sets the credits per lead.

Pro costs $99 a month and carries 10,500 credits. After one session, 9,500 remain for leads, enough for more than a thousand email-only owner contacts.

What one Pro month's 10,500 credits buy in owner leads after the one-time search session, our arithmetic

Commercial insurance leads for agents: one broker's before and after

One Spona customer, a US commercial insurance broker with fewer than 50 staff, bought 1,500 verified small-business owner contacts. Over four weeks before the purchase, its emails booked 12 meetings from 1,500 deliveries. That is 0.80 percent. Over four weeks after the purchase, the same number of delivered emails booked 23 meetings, or 1.53 percent.

Those are one customer's numbers from two periods. They do not prove the list caused the change; the broker's offer, the season and the senders could all have moved. What they do show is the unit an agency should track: meetings per delivered email, not leads bought.

At email-only list prices, that list plus the session costs $44 to $115. Divide by the meetings booked after the purchase, and a meeting costs $1.91 to $5.00. That is list-price arithmetic, not the broker's spend.

B2B insurance leads and the law: email and call rules

B2B insurance leads are business contacts, and the US and the UK still regulate how you reach them. Four rules cover most of what an agency does.

US email. The FTC's guide says CAN-SPAM makes no exception for business-to-business email. Every message needs a valid physical postal address and a working opt-out, honoured within 10 business days. Each separate email in violation can draw a penalty of up to $53,088.

US calls. The FTC's Telemarketing Sales Rule mostly leaves business calls alone: most calls between a telemarketer and a business are exempt. Two exceptions matter: calls selling nondurable office or cleaning supplies, and calls that pitch individual employees on products for their own use. A call to an owner about the company's cover is neither. This post covers the FTC's rule only; it says nothing about the rules for autodialers and texts.

UK email. The ICO's B2B guidance says you do not need consent under PECR to email a corporate subscriber, such as a limited company. You must not disguise or conceal your identity, and you must give a valid address for opt-outs.

Sole traders and some partnerships count as individual subscribers. The ICO says you can only market to them by email or text if they have specifically consented, or the soft opt-in applies. A one-van plumber may be one, so check whether the business is a registered company before you send.

UK calls. For live calls, the ICO says to screen against both the CTPS and TPS registers. UK GDPR still applies to B2B marketing whenever you process personal data, and an owner's name and email are personal data. The ICO marks this guidance as under review after the Data (Use and Access) Act. Read the current version before you build a UK sequence.

For the calls themselves, our cold call scripts guide has openers that survive a busy owner. Our email list cleaning guide covers suppression lists and bounces.

Spona for commercial insurance leads: what it covers and lacks

Spona fits an agency that knows its segments and would rather pay per owner contact than per quote request. You describe the buyer in a chat. "Trucking company owners, fewer than 50 staff, hiring in the last 30 days" is a complete search. The AI mines 40+ sources, verifies every lead and returns a scored list in about 4 minutes.

What it covers:

  • Owner contacts across the six segments above. 2,557,300 firms with fewer than 50 staff and a verified owner, founder, CEO, president or managing partner.
  • Three timing filters on Pro and above. First seen, new location and hiring, combined with the segment and the area. Spona has announced Signal Search as its own search type; it is not available yet.
  • Brick-and-mortar data. Local businesses with physical sites, which restaurants and clinics are.
  • A price before you pay. The per-lead price shows at checkout, and every search starts with a free sample. Email-only leads cost 3 to 7 credits on Standard Search.
  • Enrichment of your own book. Bring a list of expiring policies or old quotes and pay only for what Spona adds: 5 credits for a verified email, 35 for a mobile number.
  • An exclusion list on every plan. Load your current clients so they never appear in a search.

Where it falls short:

  • Nobody on the list asked for a quote. A web lead is an owner who is shopping now. A Spona lead is an owner you have to interest. If you need quote requests, Tivly, CompleteMarkets and InsuranceLeads.com sell them.
  • The data is not exclusive. Another agency can run the same search and reach the same owner.
  • No carrier, premium or renewal-date field. Spona's records hold the person, the company, its size, its technologies and its signals. They do not know who insures the company today or when the policy renews. You ask on the first call and log the answer.
  • No square-footage filter. Salesgenie filters by square footage; Spona filters by segment, location and staff count.
  • Spona does not book meetings. AI calling and AI cold email remain announced features, not available ones. An appointment setter is the product for delivered meetings.
  • A session costs 1,000 credits before the first paid lead. The Free plan carries 3,000 one-time credits, so the first session leaves 2,000 for leads.
  • No Salesforce or Pipedrive connector. HubSpot is the only native CRM integration. The rest take a CSV on paid plans, or the API on Expert.
The Extractor
The Refiner
The Verifier
The Exporter

Get thousands of leads in 4 minutes.

Stop stitching tools together.
Start with verified sales data, delivered in minutes.

SCALE SALES NOW

No contracts · No setup · No onboarding

Commercial insurance leads FAQ

How do you get leads for commercial insurance?

You can buy quote requests, bid for leads, pay an appointment setter, or build a list of owner contacts yourself. Quote requests bring an owner who is already shopping; a built list brings more owners, at a price you know before you buy. Pick one segment, one area and one signal, such as restaurants hiring in the last 30 days, and work it before you widen it. Our small business lead generation guide covers the other channels.

How much do commercial insurance leads cost?

No vendor on the pages we read publishes a per-lead price for commercial leads; they price by risk, location, bid or priority tier. On Spona, an email-only owner lead costs $0.024 to $0.07. Add a mobile number and the lead costs $0.28 to $0.55. Each new search also carries a one-time session of 1,000 credits.

Who has the best commercial insurance leads?

Nobody who sells commercial leads for insurance agents publishes conversion data you can check, so judge a vendor on its terms, not its claims. Ask whether the lead is exclusive or shared, how the price is set and what the return policy covers. Then ask to see a sample before you pay. A vendor that answers all four in writing is ahead of one that quotes a conversion rate with no method behind it.

How do you find commercial insurance leads for free?

Spona's Free plan carries 3,000 one-time credits. The first session takes 1,000, and the remaining 2,000 buy a few hundred email-only owner leads. Every search also starts with a free sample, so you see real rows before you spend. Public records are the other free route, and our guide to finding the owner of a business covers nine methods, free and paid.

Share this article

GET FREE LEADSSparkle

Similar Topics For You

see all texts